Trust for Sustainable Living

Students from 30 countries debate climate solutions


The Trust for Sustainable Living (TSL), based in the United Kingdom, is pleased to announce the winners of the TSL 2017 International Schools Debates on Climate Action at Oxford University (3-6 July).

Over 200 people from 30 countries attended this year’s Debates.

Over 200 students, teachers and parents from 30 countries participated in this year’s TSL Schools Debates on Climate Action. This group photo was taken outside the Oxford University Museum of Natural History, before a panel discussion with climate experts.

Secondary Schools Category (age 11-17)

Best Individual Contribution
Audrey Isabel Lim Pe (Multiple Intelligence International School, Philippines)

Judges’ Commendations (Individuals)
Dhruv Bhatt (DPS Haldwani, India)
Radost Deneva (SUEO ‘A S Pushkin’, Bulgaria)
Maciej Pawlik (Reading School, UK)

Best Group
Oliver Alcock (Caldicott School, UK), Edmund Lea (Reading School, UK), Maria Vina Lopez (IES Rosalia de Castro, Spain), Keziah Owusu-Attuahene (La Retraite RC Girls, UK), Laura Perez Silva (Colegio Nuevo Cambridge, Colombia),  Kirill Shevlyakov (School No. 7, Kazakhstan), Tudor Oarfa (Ioan Petrus Theoretical High School, Romania)

Secondary School Debate Ambassadors
Anica Caterina Abaquin (Multiple Intelligence International School, Philippines)
Nixon Kariuki Chege (Teachers Environmental Rescue, Kenya)
Aaditya Singh (DPS Sharjah, UAE)
Agnieszka Wenta (Zespol Szkol Ponadgimnazjalnych w Sierakowicach, Poland)

Primary Schools Category (age 7-11)

Best Individual Contribution
Zahra Vakil (Jumeirah Primary School , UAE)

Judges’ Commendations (Individuals)
Nils Giard (Jumeirah Primary School, UAE)
Zoie Irasusta (Multiple Intelligence International School, Philippines)
Aryav Odhrani (JESS Jumeirah)

‘The Environmentalists’ won Best Group in this year’s Primary Schools Debate at Rhodes House, Oxford.

Best Group
Lucia Chebe (Ruiru Fairview Academy, Kenya), Oliver Eells (International College, Lebanon), Yun gyu Kim (SEC English School, South Korea), Alex Rowe (ZKiW Dziemiany, Poland), Alexander Newman (King’s College School, UK) and Danyall Zobairi, Himakshi Shastri, Veda Fernandes, Malaika Hassan, Salma Reda (Jumeirah Primary School, UAE)

Primary School Debate Ambassadors
Thurayya Jubayli (International College, Lebanon)
Viknesh Mahendran (JESS Jumeirah, UAE)
Aryav Odhrani (JESS Jumeirah, UAE)
Himakshi Shastri (Jumeirah Primary School, UAE)

To take part in the Debates, the students first had to submit an essay outlining their ideas for beating climate change by the year 2030.

The debate winners received their awards at the TSL 2017 International Schools Awards at Rhodes House, Oxford.